5 Things No One Tells You When You Move Abroad

Your friendships will suffer

I know everyone says that, but it’s so true.

One day, you will look back and realize that so much happened in your absence and that so much has changed. Your friends changed, you changed and the world around you has changed. You will find it harder to keep a conversation going with people who used to be you best friends, and inside jokes will become increasingly foreign and you will realize you have become somewhat of an outsider.

As harsh as it sounds, this will be inevitable at some point or another and even the strongest of friendships will suffer some blows, but if they are worth it to you, you got to be ready to work for them and keep in touch.

In the end, some friendships will end and it won’t be anyone’s fault, and yet everyone’s.

You will get sad, a lot

Yup, even after 5 years of living abroad you will still get homesick very often. Birthdays, losses, holidays come and go and life doesn’t stop and wait for you. I find myself missing even the smallest of things, and those are the ones that hurt the most – the ones I find myself miss the most. It can get really tough and even with supportive family and friends, you will have to learn to be your own hero and carry yourself out through those days.

Even with all those feelings laying heavy on my heart, moving to Denmark was the best decision I have ever made. If I didn’t make this great change I wouldn’t meet the people I did, made wonderful memories and, most importantly, I wouldn’t fall in love.

You will be afraid

There is this normal fear of living in a new country, which is inevitable in the first few months, but it never really goes away. It just changes. It shifts into fear of failure and uncertainty of if what you are doing is right – if everything you’ve gone through is worthwhile.

Disappointing my family at home is one of my biggest fears and I find myself questioning my life choices quite often. But considering all the anxiety and stress that comes with it, this “fear” made me braver and pushed me to do and be better.

Things will almost never go as planned

I am a planner, almost OCD level planner, but when you move abroad things go nuts. You arrive with a specific goal in mind, but sometimes it just doesn’t pan out as you imagined it to. However, every now and then something much better happens.

I remember when I first arrived to Denmark, my goal was to finish school and return straight back to Croatia. And now, 5 years later, I find myself loved up and being a dog mom with a degree! And you know what, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

You will change

Not only will your cooking and budgeting skills be on point, you will be amazed when you realize how far you’ve come. You became this independent and confident person that is just a better version of your old self.

And when you realize that other people in your life have grown up and also changed – you will understand, because so have you.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Shari Eberts says:

    Nothing worth doing is easy so it makes sense there are challenges. But the personal growth sounds wonderful! Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Couldn’t agree more! Thanks for your feedback 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Gibbs says:

    Nailed it! I travel for a living and you hit it bang on. What I try to do is push it all out while I am away and look forward to the homecoming.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you found it relatable, it’s makes it a bit easier when you realize you are not alone in this!

      Thanks for your feedback 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. valentina says:

    That’s so true, I lived abroad for 3 years and I can totally relate. Thanks for sharing these thoughts!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you liked it!

      Like

  4. totally agree in it way to go girl 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the support 😁😁

      Liked by 1 person

  5. larisaelenas says:

    Your words are so true. I can definitely relate to this, even though I didn’t had the courage to live my hometown and country. One of my best friends lives abroad and I sure miss him. Sending positive vibes your way 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, it means alot 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. flourisch says:

    Dora, what a lovely and insightful post! I have experienced some very similar emotions on my own travels. I hope you don’t treat yourself too harshly when it comes to your parents expectations!

    Good luck and lots of love from Josh

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for the kinds words, it means a lot! ☺️☺️

      Like

  7. Johanne says:

    I have lived in The Netherlands for 31 years now (almost 32) and this year will probably be the year that my boyfriend and I move to Spain. It’s so exiting, but also very scary. I am confident things will be ok in the end, but I guess it’s like Shari says: nothing worth doing is ever easy. Love your post, thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you could relate! Moving can be very scary, but it can also bring so many good things to your life. I wish you both the best of luck when you move to Spain!

      Like

Leave a comment